Read about committees of the ALUUC.


The Audit Committee conducts an annual review of the Congregation’s financial records.
Chair: Marsh Wijetunge
Board Liaison: Marsh Wijetunge

Standing Committee of the Board.

Children’s Religious Education (RE)

This committee plans the curricula for the children’s religious education, and plans other events for the children throughout the year.

Co-Chairs:  Deborah Cavanaugh-Grant 
Board Liaison:  Lara Quivey
Director of Religious Education (DRE): Pat Woods

Standing Committee of the Board.

Go to Children’s Religious Education Page

Committee on Ministry

The Committee shall meet with the Minister no less than twice a year for a performance evaluation and to discuss any issues of importance to the ministry

Chair: Jodi Perko (2018-21) 
Jim Curran (2017-2020)
Diana DeWeese (2016-19)
Yosh Golden (2018-21)
Ed Schultz (2017-2020)
Juliet Slack (2016-19)

A Committee of the Congregation, appointed by the Nominating Committee with the advice and consent of the Minister and the Board.

Eco Camp

This committee plans and runs Eco Camp, our annual free summer week-long ecology day camp for children and youth.

Chairs:  Phil Anderson and Diana DeWeese
Board Liaison: Kim Villanueva

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Learn more about Eco Camp…

Electronic & Communications (ECC)

This committee manages digital communications (website, monthly newsletter, official emails, social media); membership directories; office computers and related equipment; and audio/visual equipment (sound system, hearing assist).

Chair:  Marissa DeWeese
Board Liaison:  Kim Villanueva
Newsletter:  Cheryl Wycoff and Elaine Gambiani
Webmaster:  Carol Kneedler

Standing Committee of the Board.

Endowment Trust

Our Endowment Trustees guide the investments of the Abraham Lincoln Unitarian Universalist Congregation Endowment Trust.

Trustee Chair:  Roger Powers (2015-20) 
Board Liaison: Marsh Wijetunge
Trustees: (six year terms)
Cathy Brookshire (2018-24
Delinda Chapman (2017-23)
Frank Kopecky (2017-23)
Roger Powers (2014-20)
*Vacant Trustee to be Filled to finish term for 2018 to 2021 (half of a six year term)

Trustees are elected by the Congregation.


This committee maintains the building and grounds of the congregation. Aesthetics and Flower are sub-committees of Facilities.  Download the ALUUC building use checklist (PDF)

Co-Chairs:  Gwen Childs and Kurt DeWeese
Board Liaison:  Larry Muir

Standing Committee of the Board.


This subcommittee maintains the setup and appearance of the congregational building.

Chair: Gwen Childs

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.


This subcommittee provides the floral arrangements for the Sunday morning services. Occasional classes in flower arranging are offered. Also, anyone can sign-up to beautify the church with flowers. The cost is $20.00 for a standard arrangement, but you can order something special if you’d like to spend more.

Chair: Vi Lanum

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.


This committee plans fun activities that build community and fellowship. These include: potlucks, social hour after the Sunday service; game nights; movie nights; cookouts; and other special events throughout the year!

Chair: TBD
Board Liaison: Rev. Martin Woulfe

Standing Committee of the Board.

Go to Fellowship Committee Page

Covenant Groups

Chair: Stu Jacobson
Members: Elaine Gambiani, Juliet Slack, Carol Kneedler, Lisa Udel

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.


This committee coordinates pledge drives, identifies financial needs and works with the Board to recommend the annual congregational budget.

Chair:  Kurt DeWeese
Board Liaison:  Dennis Rumme 

Standing Committee of the Board.

Green Sanctuary

This committee identifies and seeks to develop ways the congregation can function in a more environmentally sustainable manner. This committee also identifies and works with outreach efforts in our community, both local and global.

Co-Chairs: Jim Curran 
Board Liaison:  Bob Croteau

Standing Committee of the Board.

Read more about the Green Sanctuary committee and its work…

Long Range Planning

The Long Range Planning Committee leads the long range planning effort at ALUUC. The 2015-2016 planning cycle was based on the Appreciative Inquiry process recommended by our MidAmerica Region UUA consultants Thom Thomas and Steve Mennerick. The committee solicited goals through the end of October 2016, including a Sunday service on October 23, 2016. A special congregational meeting was held November 13, 2016 to vote to affirm our strategic visions and prioritize specific goals to implement the strategic visions.

Co-Chair: Debby Hagan 
Board Liaison:  Debby Hagan.

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Find more information on the Long Range Planning page…


Chair: Debby Hagan
Board Liaison: Larry Muir

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.


This committee fosters membership and the engagement and retention of members, and organizes publicity for the congregation.

Co-Chair: Carol Kneedler & Dianne Roberts
Board Liaison: Dianne Roberts
Membership Coordinator: Tracy Zieber 

Standing Committee of the Board.


The Nominating Committee shall be responsible for nominating candidates for the Board, for the applicable Committees of the Congregation referred to in this Article, and for trustees of the Endowment Trust. Nominations to the Ministerial Search Committee shall be as necessary.

Chair: Gwen Childs (2017-19)
Sarah Iaiennaro (2018-20)
Stewart Jacobson (2017-19)
Michael Plog (2018-20)

A Committee of the Congregation.

Pastoral Care

This committee provides care and help to members having difficulties. One of our activities is to match members with needs and members able to help. We need volunteers who are not interested in committee meetings, but want to visit the home bound, drive for people, deliver stuff, and sometimes cook a casserole.

Chair:  Delinda Chapman & Jodi Perko
Board Liaison:  Rev. Martin Woulfe 

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Go to Pastoral Care Page


This committee oversees the hiring and evaluation of the paid staff, with the exception of the Minister.

Chair: Dianne Roberts
Board Liaison:  Dianne Roberts

Standing Committee of the Board.


This committee schedules the lay-led sermon topics and plans the summer services.

Chair: Elaine Orr
Members: Craig Bailey, Diana DeWeese, Penny Wollan-Kriel, Martha Plog, Beverly Holmes, Kathy SchultzEd Schultz, Phil Gregg
Board Liaison: Bonnie Ettinger & Alison Stachera

Standing Committee of the Board.


Chairs: Bonnie Ettinger & Kathy Schultz

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Social Justice (SJC)

This committee educates the congregation and takes action on social justice issues. This committee also supports many projects, and works with local, national and international social justice organizations.

Chair: Nancy Derrig & Meg Evans 
Board Liaison:  Debby Hagan

Standing Committee of the Board.

Go to Social Justice Committee Page

Welcoming Congregation

This committee strives to maintain a diverse membership, promotes learning and sharing of values, and fosters action that advances social justice and compassion, both in our community and in our world.

Chairs: Meg Evans & Tracy Zieber 

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Go to Welcoming Congregation Page

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee (UUSC)

The UUSC is a nonsectarian organization that advances human rights and social justice in the United States and around the world. UUSC envisions a world free from oppression and injustice, where all can realize their full human rights.

ALUUC Representative:  TBA

Stewardship Campaign 2018-19

Chairs: Cathy Brookshire & Tina Bennett
Board Liaison: All board members

Ad Hoc Committee of the Board.

Copyright © • ALUUC • All rights reserved